In every company employees come and go. Only – what do you do with the old user in onOffice enterprise edition? Deleting is usually the first thought, but this is not possible in the onOffice enterprise edition because of the link to activities.
There are basically two options for you: deactivate the existing account and create a new one if necessary, or leave the existing account and assign it to a new employee.
The following aspects should be considered:
- The username itself cannot be changed!
If a new employee takes over the existing access, it is no longer possible, for example, to infer the employee directly from the user name in activities, because the user name/code and not the “owner” is stored there. You would then always have to check which employee was the owner of this user data record at the time of the activity entry. This information is NOT contained in the user record.
- The user is likely to have addresses and/or properties assigned to him. It is important that addresses and properties always have a valid caretaker. After a user has been deactivated, you should filter addresses and properties by the deactivated maintainer and assign them to the newly created maintainer via the mass update .
- Private templates, work lists, filters etc. are only accessible with this user account.
- The user will have access to mailboxes and passwords, which will probably also be turned off.
Our recommendation is to deactivate the existing user and create a new account for new employees.